das wandern

let me continue in peace, and (stop) wander(ing)!

with 7 comments

i am not going into photojournalism to take pretty pictures. i am not going into photojournalism to achieve financial security. not for the prestige. not for the pleasure.

i am going into photojournalism because there are stories that need to be told. there are invisible children. there are invisible people, invisible nations. there is human suffering, there is injustice. atrocities we can choose to ignore. i want to make it more difficult for you to ignore. i want to make
it more difficult for me to ignore. i want to be so immersed in the
reality of it all, that i can’t just go home and forget about it.

i think im growing up–im realizing that not everyone is called to this. there are people whose callings include affluence, maybe. people in nice homes in nice cities doing God’s will. people who are good and real and right.

but i am not one of those people. and i cant justify living that life. dont want to settle into it because its right for someone else. that is not what im called to. but i am scared.  scared that i will convince myself that this is where i belong. scared that i will convince myself that i am called to financial security and the nightly news.

God, dont let me neglect my calling.
and dont let me forget your people.

a life wasted is not a life worth living.
id rather die there doing what i am called to do.
than live here as a coward and a slave to comfort.

Written by knsayres

April 14, 2006 at 12:09 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wait, if they’re invisible, how do they show up on film…

    gkchesterton

    April 14, 2006 at 1:20 am

  2. I know what your talking about. It makes me think of that line by Switchfoot “I want more than this lonely nation.” Btw have you read John Piper’s “Don’t Waste Your Life?” It echoes what you said here. It was convicting for me to read as a “comfortable American” living in a nation that worships status quo and a “Disney World” lifestyle.May God bless you as you seek His best for your life!

    belongtohim

    April 14, 2006 at 9:55 am

  3. ahhhhh wow.. yeah i know how you feel… in fact being comfortable is my biggest fear in life. i never want to just settle.wow. awesome.

    Anonymous

    April 14, 2006 at 12:41 pm

  4. Have I told you lately that I love you?  If not, I’ll tell you Saturday.  I’ll so be there just to see you.and hear amy play.

    Anonymous

    April 14, 2006 at 7:25 pm

  5. you are quite right.
    beautiful.

    pfostpfilms

    April 14, 2006 at 9:59 pm

  6. this is inspiring, even if you never meant it to be. i am going through a phase in my life, and your words hit it right on the spot. thanks. 🙂

    Kitty_lin

    April 14, 2006 at 11:24 pm

  7. i want to write something.  but nothing i can come up with will express how much this post meant to me.

    hannahthehoss

    April 17, 2006 at 1:18 am


Leave a Reply

