das wandern

let me continue in peace, and (stop) wander(ing)!

with 18 comments

we dont believe the bible.
if we do, why have we not yet sold all our possessions and given to charity? do we not trust the Lord when he tells us we are worth far more than lilies and ravens?

this isnt unclear.
this is no vague promise of blessing.

he says he will care for our every need. and i trust my earthly father
more than this. he tells me, “go to england. i will make sure you have
what you need.” and so i make plans to go. with nothing more than his
word to support me. and my friend says, “come with me to lunch. dont
worry about money, ive got it covered.” and though there is no money in
my pocket, i go. and i never doubt i will have enough.

but when my Father says, “go, sell your possessions and give to
charity” and “do not worry about your life, as to what you will eat;
nor for your body, as to what you will put on.” i am silent. i am still.

i do nothing.

and when you confront me, ill say, “that is for the rich man. the man who loves his money.”

but what i mean in my heart is: i need my money more than i need God.
my money can provide for me far better than my God. i have found my
security.

we do not believe.
i do not belive.

Written by knsayres

February 19, 2006 at 2:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i have a new media blog

    Anonymous

    February 19, 2006 at 2:21 pm

  2. it’s true, and it’s hard. part of me thanks God for it, but the rest of me is terrified of what it means and fights against it with everything i can muster, or just puts it off until tomorrow again.

    mbnewman

    February 19, 2006 at 2:33 pm

  3. I dont think its really because we don’t believe, its more that we just aren’t willing.

    Anonymous

    February 19, 2006 at 3:00 pm

  4. I needed to be reminded of this…Its true. Thanks for provoking thought.

    belongtohim

    February 19, 2006 at 3:04 pm

  5. good thoughts… yeah we don’t seem to fully believe a lot of God’s promises.. if we did live in a way where we believed His promises, think of how different our lives would be…

    Anonymous

    February 19, 2006 at 6:33 pm

  6. Um, we were in the same church service this morning?  God totally convicted me about this very issue today in church!  Crazy how He works like that! 
    And I think not only is it unbelief, but it’s also a lack of love.  If we love Him, we’ll obey Him.  How I wish I could love Him more!

    Erin1022

    February 19, 2006 at 10:15 pm

  7. I keep re-reading this post. I really need my faith stretched as I move out into the horizons God has for me. Thanks again for posting it.

    belongtohim

    February 20, 2006 at 10:25 am

  8. No, I haven’t found a ride. March won’t be the same for me either. Man, if nothing else, hanging out with you guys and eating at Babe’s; nothing better.M.T.

    matttoddphoto

    February 20, 2006 at 1:02 pm

  9. you are incredible. i love to read your writing.i don’t know it is still called the Chi…. but bands still play at the visible school.

    hannahthehoss

    February 22, 2006 at 10:53 am

  10. *if it is..

    hannahthehoss

    February 22, 2006 at 10:53 am

  11. it will be on the application. are you interested in being a counselor again?the app, information, and contact names and numbers will be up by the end of the week.thanks. make sure you subscribe to the site! love you mucho.oh, and let me know when you are in town again.how long are you doing this photo story?i am still wondering if i teach the mom. 🙂

    Hishandsnfeet

    February 22, 2006 at 3:53 pm

  12. girl, take your time!! this have been kind of crazy lately…. so no pressure. for real.i still can’t believe you want to take pictures of me.

    hannahthehoss

    February 23, 2006 at 9:58 am

  13. a while back, you asked me if there were any cool places close to campus to take pictures…. and a friend of mine introduced me to one recently called chickasaw park. if you want to check it out, she posted some pics we took there on her xanga (www.xanga.com/savannahmeadows)and don’t forget that i may be coming up there soon. so let me know if that would be more convenient.

    hannahthehoss

    February 23, 2006 at 10:03 am

  14. hi. i’m brad(ley)’s brother. it’s much more comforting to take the easy way out. “those words aren’t for me.” yet those words are for me. those words are especially for me, the american who ignores the pain in africa and the oppression in western europe and the vagabond in my back yard. “Blessed rather are those who hear the word of God and obey it…” (Lk 11:28) thanks.

    bmoore268

    February 23, 2006 at 3:50 pm

  15. your picture reminds me of the jetsons

    Anonymous

    February 23, 2006 at 6:25 pm

  16. i think on nic’s little feel-good-award-for-everyone thing, he should have given you the “most awesomely cool amazing profile pictures that inspire jealousy in all xangites” award. (i think i made up the word xangite)

    aims2011

    February 25, 2006 at 12:03 am

  17. i agree with amy! btw: who takes them?

    exceptforanMLT

    February 25, 2006 at 8:52 am

  18. actually, i think i might come.

    aims2011

    February 25, 2006 at 11:54 pm


Leave a Reply

