das wandern

let me continue in peace, and (stop) wander(ing)!

with 6 comments


here is the perseverance of the saints who keep the commandments of God and their faith in Jesus.


salvation is not a charm we wear around our soul.
the sinners prayer is no incantation to save us from hell.

the perseverance of the saints is about persevering.
and im not sure im persevering.
ive been sinning.
and ive been enjoying sin too much to give it up.


the grace that gets me in the the grace that pushes me on.


but i think what im learning is to keep pressing on. persevering
leaves no room for standing still. this faith is an active faith. there
is no resting place. we are either actively with him, or we are
against him. standing still  isnt safe. theres no such thing as
neutral.

he who is not with me is against me; and he who does not gather with me, scatters.

it hit me hard that morning.  i had always read that verse the other
way around: those who arent against me are with me. it was a nice safety net for my spiritual apathy. but thats not how it
is. thats not what hes saying.

like naomi said:

there is no spiritual switzerland.

and there is practical in this.
there is the need to persevere.

and a friend asked me what exactly it is i think i need.

i need to be caught up in things that are real.

in reading and knowing and studying holy scripture.

in praying.

in loving.

in feeding widows and orphans.

in learning how to be the best photographer and writer i can be, for the glory of God and for the furthering of his kingdom.

and i want to persevere.
to keep the commandments of God and my faith in Jesus.

ive been sinning.

and ive been enjoying sin too much to give it up.
but i think i am finally reaching the point where im beginning to try to give up the sins i enjoy.

im sinning.
im falling.
but im persevering.
and the salvation charm is only weighing me down.



from the sermon notes of caleb salazar,
11 september 2005:

we must try to be better.

and we must trust that he is good enough.

trust and obey

for theres no other way

that is the truth.

Written by knsayres

February 13, 2006 at 2:24 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “the grace that gets me in the the grace that pushes me on.i need to be caught up in things that are real.in learning how to be the best photographer and writer i can be, for the glory of God and the furthering of his kingdom.”I really like the interpretation here, especially of “Perseverance of the Saints” driving one forward for the kingdom. Sometimes I think I suck at really laying out theology, but I try to get it, and I think you got it here. (By the way, you do know that Switzerland isn’t neutral anymore, right? It had to renounce neutrality to join the European Union.)
    You say that you people don’t burn folk and sacrifice people anymore, but that’s what true faith would mean, y’see? Sacrificin’ your own life, one day at a time, to the flame, declarin’ the truth of it, workin’ for it, breathin’ the soul of it. That’s religion. Anything else is just . . . is just bein’ nice. And a way of keepin’ in touch with the neighbors.”–Carpe Jugulum, by Terry Pratchett
    Then I said, “I will not make mention of Him, nor speak anymore in His name.” But His word was in my heart like a burning fire, shut up in my bones, I was weary of holding it back, and I could not.”–Jeremiah 20:9, New King James Version
    “The fire must be kept burning on the altar continuously; it must not go out.”–Leviticus 6:13, New International Version

    dingospleen

    February 13, 2006 at 3:30 am

  2. Totally agree…its such a mystery in this issue but the hymn you quoted has it right. There is no other way to be happy in Jesus! Good thoughts!

    belongtohim

    February 13, 2006 at 5:47 am

  3. I miss you Kristen Sayres… your words reveal such beauty. I think that God blesses our times of reflection, and then gives us the strength to act on what he reveals. The concept of living for Christ seems so hard at times…but those are the times when we carry the load on our own. “For my yoke is easy and my burden is light…” I’m learning to turn it over to Christ daily, and to look only at what I am called to do in this moment…for that’s where the Lord helps you… in the next moment. One step at a time, one burden less to carry … that’s where our “trust that he is good enough” comes from. I am praying for you today. Know that you are loved.

    anmitchell83

    February 13, 2006 at 1:05 pm

  4. hey….i got your e-mail….we will talk soon….

    Anonymous

    February 14, 2006 at 5:05 pm

  5. okay….got your phone call and talked to Mrs. ruth about this family…will make sure tomorrow that this family is okay….okay?  i will call you!  thanks for your patience….

    Anonymous

    February 16, 2006 at 12:16 am

  6. okay, we have a family….i also have other questions for you…i will call you when it’s not 8am!!!

    Anonymous

    February 16, 2006 at 9:07 am


Leave a Reply

